The Dr. Marian C. Shivers Mentor Award


Dr. Ricky Shabazz, President, San Diego City Community College, California

Dr. Ricky Shabazz is an enthusiastic, student-centered leader with over two decades of executive experience advancing academic achievement, educational equity, diversity, and improving access to higher education. He specializes in enrollment management and cultivating institutional policies, processes, and culture that provide personalized student experiences and improves student outcomes. Dr. Shabazz’s demonstrated strengths include using data-informed decisions to lead high impact models of practice, promoting innovative solutions that stimulate inclusive dialogue amongst all stakeholders, and being a passionate lifelong learner who is committed to the mission of community colleges to educate a diverse community of learners.


The Leadership Award is selected by the board from nominations received throughout the year. This award recognizes the contributions of an active member of the organization who’s efforts support the national organization or one of the regions. The individual embodies the NCBAA spirit and inspires new members to become affiliated with NCBAA and ongoing members to remain steadfast to their commitment to our organization.


Keisha Jones, Vice President Student Affairs/Chief Diversity Officer,
Davidson-Davie Community College, NC

Keisha Jones is a visionary leader in the fields of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) and Leadership strategy. Her unwavering passion lies in witnessing organizations thrive and reach their full potential. With roles encompassing leader, curator, consultant, instructor, and facilitator, Keisha empowers organizations to strategically integrate DEIB, sparking lasting and purposeful transformation.


The NCBAA President’s Award recipient is selected by the current president of the NCBAA. This award acknowledges the efforts of an individual that demonstrates consistent support of the NCBAA mission, vision, and operation activity. The President’s Award Recipient will be featured in our 2015 Awards Breakfast Booklet.


Dr. L. Marshall Washington, President, Kalamazoo Valley Community College, Michigan

L. Marshall Washington, Ph.D., is a passionate advocate for the community college mission. He is dedicated to improving access to post-secondary education, student success and to creating innovative programs for teaching and learning. He leads with experience and passion for serving students, faculty, staff and the community. He began his tenure as the third president of Kalamazoo Valley Community College on July 2, 2018 and lead s a two-year, public institution with four campuses, which include student-run restaurants, state-of-the-art training facilities for health care careers and professional trades and the Kalamazoo Valley Museum.