NCBAA Awards

The NCBAA recognizes our role in acknowledging the stall worth efforts of community college leaders. Each year, during our annual awards breakfast at the AACC Convention, we honor the contributions and leadership provided by these individuals. We understand that these individuals certainly do not engage in the work for the accolades, however, we want them to know that we honor and acknowledge that our institutions, faculty/staff, and most importantly, students benefit from the time, talent, and treasure they contribute to our nation’s community colleges. Descriptions of the awards and previous recipients are noted below. We are currently soliciting nominations for the 2015 Leadership and Mentoring Awards.  Nominations can be submitted using the forms below.

Mentoring Award

Mentoring of oncoming professionals and aspiring presidents and senior level administrators is one of the hallmarks of the NCBAA. We understand that, “Mentoring Quote”. Our professional development programs incorporate an ongoing mentoring element and members of our organization participate willingly in mentoring recognizing that none of us, “got here on our own.” The NCBAA Mentoring Award is given annually to an individual that exemplifies this spirit and has provided wise guidance and counsel to black faculty, staff, and administrators. This award is presented to the recipient, by the nominator, (the nominee and nominator must be attending the 2015 Convention) during our annual awards breakfast. If you would like to nominate an individual for the 2015 NCBAA Mentoring Award, please complete the form below. A panel will review nominees and notify the nominator and nominee by March 1, 2015. The Mentoring Award Recipient will be featured in our 2015 Awards Breakfast Booklet.

Recent recipients include:
2014 Recipient – Dr. Helen Benjamin, Chancellor, Contra Costa Community College District
2013 Recipient – Dr. Christine McPhail,
2012 Recipient – Dr. Carolane Williams, President Baltimore City Community College

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is selected by the board from nominations received throughout the year.  This award recognizes the contributions of an active member of the organization who’s efforts support the national organization or one of the regions.  The individual embodies the NCBAA spirit and inspires new members to become affiliated with NCBAA and ongoing members to remain steadfast to their commitment to our organization.

Recent recipients include:
2014 Recipient – Terence Wright, Campus Enrollment Leader, Florida Communty College at Jacksonville
2013 Recipient – Dr. Carolyn Hull Anderson, Interim President, Baltimore City Community College
2012 Recipients – Dr. Helen Benjamin, Chancellor, Contra Costa Community College District and
Mary Coleman, Senior Vice President of Administration and Finance, Bronx Community College

President’s Award

The NCBAA President’s Award recipient is selected by the current president of the NCBAA. This award acknowledges the efforts of an individual that demonstrates consistent support of the NCBAA mission, vision, and operation activity. The President’s Award Recipient will be featured in our 2015 Awards Breakfast Booklet.

Recent recipients include:
2014 Recipient – Kevin Christian, Senior Program Manager, Diversity, Inclusion, & Equity, AACC
2013 Recipient – Dr. Charlene M. Dukes, President, Prince Georges Community College
2012 Recipient – Dr. Walter Bumphus, President and CEO, AACC